Quickie: Fried Rice

You’re on your way out the door, you’re too cheap to just grab dinner later on…so what do you do? Well, you have a quickie.

The idea of the quickie is to take whatever you’ve got and make it into something palatable. Come to think of it, that’s kind of the idea of this blog!  So: go put some water on the boil right now, then come back and read the rest of this post. Done? OK.

The first step (even before heating up water) is to hoard leftovers indiscriminately.  I picked up this habit from my frugal dad and I encourage you to cultivate it as well. Always save up material for random kitchen creations.

In this case, I already had about a cup of cooked rice. My water was at a rolling boil, so I cooked about a half cup of frozen peas. Meanwhile I scrambled an egg in 1-2 tablespoons of hot canola oil. I added the rice and stirred it all up, then peas, then I added a pinch of salt and about a teaspoon of chili garlic paste. Continue to stir for a hot second and then…DONE!  A hot plate of protein, carbs, veggies…not too bad for 10 minutes.  (I even supplemented it with a leftover egg roll and some easily steamed chinese broccoli.) Delightful!

About Thomas

Thomas currently tutors Chinese, writes blog posts, and works in the non-profit sector.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

